Downloads - FAQ - Search - Memberlist - Usergroups  - Register  - Profile - Log in to check your private messages - Log in 
DI's Tornado
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    OpenPlaneSim Forums Forum Index -> Jade's Playpen
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 28 Feb 2020
Posts: 5265
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:45 pm    Post subject: DI's Tornado Reply with quote

Hey guys! 3dp, I know you have this game... I recently picked up a free copy of DI's Tornado online (Abandonware it is...) but I was wondering if a PDF of the manual is available?

I found a PDF of another classic, Chuck Yeager's Aircombat, which I have a free copy of off of the interwebz...

I also have a legit copy of Jetfighter II on floppy, and CD-ROM versions of Secret Weapons of the Luftwaffe, A-10 Tank Killer, Red Baron, Aces of the Pacific, Aces Over Europe, and Aces of the Deep. All are running great in DOS Box. I plan on getting F-117, Dawn Patrol and Wings of Glory up and going too. I have all of those on CD-ROM.
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 28 Feb 2020
Posts: 5265
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

P.S. So yeah this is why I haven't done any SDOEing as of late... Tons of new games as well as old! I've been spending a lot of my time with Battlefield 3, World of Tanks and Rise of Flight. What have y'all been playing?

I need to get back to work on SDOE with all of The fixes 3dp and Skid sent, along with that Indy Wing...
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
3dp
Air Commodore - JAG
Air Commodore - JAG


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 27 Feb 2020
Posts: 1395
Location: Delaware

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll take a look for the manual tonight. I get it running in XP with VDMSound. If you can get it running in Win 7, please let me know how. I've always hoped it would turn up on GOG, but it never has.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 28 Feb 2020
Posts: 5265
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thus far, I've got it going pretty good in DOSBox .74 on my Win 7 64-bit machine. Smile I can post my DOSBox config file if you want?
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
oscar
Flight Lieutenant
Flight Lieutenant


Joined: 10 Jan 2003
Last Visit: 28 Apr 2016
Posts: 213
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes please ArgonV - post it! Sometimes I play older games on a Pentium III running Win Me, got it standing next to my "new" PC running Win 7 64 bit. I never worked out how to get Dos Box running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3dp
Air Commodore - JAG
Air Commodore - JAG


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 27 Feb 2020
Posts: 1395
Location: Delaware

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, I have no electronic documentation. If you need me to scan in the keyboard quick reference card, just let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 28 Feb 2020
Posts: 5265
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That would be great! I'll post more about getting DOSBox working later today. Smile
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
whirlwind
Pilot Officer
Pilot Officer


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Last Visit: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No Red Baron II/3D or Janes WWII Fighter? I might be able to find some AoP and Dawn Patrol documentation, but it won't be until next weekish.

I was thinking there was another WWII flight sim after SDOE released by Maddog(Maddox? or something) Software that had a flight model editor with it.. I know I own a copy of it, and the manuals.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 28 Feb 2020
Posts: 5265
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have Janes WW2 Fighters installed and working. However, Red Baron II/3d I have not messed with... Right now I'm messing strictly with DOS games. I think the sim you are talking about whirlwind is Janes Attack Squadron finished by Mad Doc software, started by Looking Glass. I too have that one loaded and working in Win 7 64-bit. Though it's a Win XP game and not DOS.

So oscar and 3dp, what weren't you able to get going with DOSBox?
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
3dp
Air Commodore - JAG
Air Commodore - JAG


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 27 Feb 2020
Posts: 1395
Location: Delaware

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's been a while. Just laziness on my part probably. Gonna try again. You should have the scanned in Quick Ref card in your email.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 28 Feb 2020
Posts: 5265
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it! Cheers!

Here are my DOS Box settings in the .conf file. I have a version of DOS Box installed for each of my DOS games in that game's folder.

[sdl]
fullscreen=true
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=original
windowresolution=original
output=overlay
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper-0.74.map
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]
language=
machine=svga_s3
captures=capture
memsize=16

[cpu]
core=auto
cputype=auto
cycles=50000
cycleup=10
cycledown=10

[sblaster]
sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplemu=default
oplrate=22050

[joystick]
joysticktype=4axis
timed=false
autofire=false
swap34=true
buttonwrap=false

[autoexec]
mount C D:\DOSGames
C:
cd\Tornado
TORNADO.BAT
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
3dp
Air Commodore - JAG
Air Commodore - JAG


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 27 Feb 2020
Posts: 1395
Location: Delaware

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I use fullscreen, the game is seriously stretched, widescreen monitor and all. Any of the settings above fix that?

Otherwise, all is working well. Tornado was written so well, you can set the cycles to max and it still doesn't 'run away' like some old DOS games do.

I don't know what version you have, hopefully the one that includes Desert Storm. I have a slew of add-ons, but the only one I ever found to be very useful was the one that converts the landscape to winter!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 28 Feb 2020
Posts: 5265
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the one with Desert Storm.

What video card do you have? There are options to set there as well as options on your monitor to prevent stretching but still scale up to reach the top and bottom of the screen.
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
3dp
Air Commodore - JAG
Air Commodore - JAG


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 27 Feb 2020
Posts: 1395
Location: Delaware

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll investigate! In any case, I've got it working nicely. The key was to turn timed to false, as you have above. Without that, my terrain following radar kept thinking it was getting altitude increase commands! Tornado tips:

- Pray for fog! Makes infrared missles useless.

- Plan your routes carefully, but beware . . .

- Intelligence is not always accurate (intentionally so). Some warzones are better than others. Despite all your route planning, there may turn out to be a SAM right in your path!

God I still love that game!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
3dp
Air Commodore - JAG
Air Commodore - JAG


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 27 Feb 2020
Posts: 1395
Location: Delaware

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you say you have a version of DOSBox installed for each game, you mean you just have a different config file for each, right? I've got that and my stretching issue figured out. My only issue now is in game sound for Task Force 1942. Curiously, it's GUI is fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenPlaneSim Forums Forum Index -> Jade's Playpen All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
OpenPlaneSim Forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

GZIP: Disabled GZIP: Disabled  Queries: 15Queries: 15  Generation Time: 0.79627  Seconds Generation Time: 0.79627 Seconds