Downloads - FAQ - Search - Memberlist - Usergroups  - Register  - Profile - Log in to check your private messages - Log in 
Having a little trouble with OPS on new system..

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic   printer-friendly view    OpenPlaneSim Forums Forum Index -> Add-On Developers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
LesterBoffo
Squadron Leader
Squadron Leader


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Last Visit: 07 Nov 2018
Posts: 356
Location: SW Oregon

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2011 7:28 pm    Post subject: Having a little trouble with OPS on new system.. Reply with quote

Loaded OPS on my new box last night, tried to open a file and when it opens I get this weird distorted shape in the 3D box that looks like a representation of the fourth dimension.

Should I call a atomic physicist?
_________________
FMS & Pioneers of Flight for FS-WWI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 16 Nov 2018
Posts: 5236
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, have you tried making the OPS window smaller, then restarting OPS? If that doesn't work, I think I have a DLL you can throw in the OPS folder and see of that helps. Smile
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
LesterBoffo
Squadron Leader
Squadron Leader


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Last Visit: 07 Nov 2018
Posts: 356
Location: SW Oregon

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I did some forum searching and found mention of new Nvidia drivers making it tough for OPS when the 'renderer' is set for 'RGB' instead of 'mono'.

Donchta love new hardware issues?

That fixed it, sorta.. Confused It's awfully darkish, and hard to see details. I can change to Wireframe though and it sorts itself out in RGB.

Will this DLL fix the corruption in RGB mode? I'm finding scant info on how to roll back my NVidia drivers. BTW. I love the new resolution and color depth patch, it's working a treat. Now If I can only get my Blimp to stop being transparent. #Mad
_________________
FMS & Pioneers of Flight for FS-WWI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 16 Nov 2018
Posts: 5236
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think this DLL has something to do with that yes. Smile Though I've only tested it with ATI hardware and drivers. I'll e-mail it to you when I get home.

Didn't I send you that fix for the Blimp a long time ago mate?
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
LesterBoffo
Squadron Leader
Squadron Leader


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Last Visit: 07 Nov 2018
Posts: 356
Location: SW Oregon

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you did send me that file, unfortunately it didn't work, it's like there's some hidden alpha masking in the file. I'll have to take a closer look at it in PSP 6 and see if there's a masking channel hidden in it.

Thanks for the .dll, whenever it's convenient.

Cheers
_________________
FMS & Pioneers of Flight for FS-WWI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 16 Nov 2018
Posts: 5236
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, I'll package the whole thing up and send it to you again. Maybe I missed somethings...
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 16 Nov 2018
Posts: 5236
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I sent the e-mail. Smile
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
LesterBoffo
Squadron Leader
Squadron Leader


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Last Visit: 07 Nov 2018
Posts: 356
Location: SW Oregon

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup got it, thanks, I'll let you know how it goes, I got SDOE up and running, I'm a little occupied.. Cool
_________________
FMS & Pioneers of Flight for FS-WWI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LesterBoffo
Squadron Leader
Squadron Leader


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Last Visit: 07 Nov 2018
Posts: 356
Location: SW Oregon

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Blimp is fixed BTW, thank you, thank you! Very Happy I'm going through the shadow LOD's f0 editing, It takes a while, doesn't it?
_________________
FMS & Pioneers of Flight for FS-WWI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 16 Nov 2018
Posts: 5236
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great news! Yes it does take a long time... I remember one Christmas where I did nothing but 3d shadows for all of the WWI kites that existed at the time... Sometimes I wish I'd never developed the process!!! Wink
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
LesterBoffo
Squadron Leader
Squadron Leader


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Last Visit: 07 Nov 2018
Posts: 356
Location: SW Oregon

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I didn't get back to you sooner about this, the .dll you sent is already present in my system folder. So I've had it all along, and I'm still fighting the distorted shapes in OPS. If I keep OPS's rendering to wireframe it sorts itself out. It's harder to do accurate DOF's using the wireframe view though.
_________________
FMS & Pioneers of Flight for FS-WWI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 16 Nov 2018
Posts: 5236
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try going to Prefs under View, then to the Viewport tab. Now click the last selection - Blended and Sorted, No Z-buffer
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
LesterBoffo
Squadron Leader
Squadron Leader


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Last Visit: 07 Nov 2018
Posts: 356
Location: SW Oregon

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes! yup now it works, and I can see the mapping for the older Fighter Squadron SDOE WWII aircraft, but not the FS-WWI mapping, although this is still an improvement. Thanks!
_________________
FMS & Pioneers of Flight for FS-WWI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ArgonV
Air Marshal - Site Admin
Air Marshal - Site Admin


Joined: 24 Dec 2002
Last Visit: 16 Nov 2018
Posts: 5236
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're using a different game install location for WWI than WW2 (Which you should be doing) you'll have to change that under View - Prefs - Media path under the General tab.

Furthermore, it's best to extract Data15.par (Using BigMunger) in its own folder away from your game, then install the latest FS-WWI Patch to that folder (So you get the latest textures). Then set that folder as your Media path. Just be sure your working SM files are still coming out of your actual FS-WWI game's Media folder.
_________________
'Go Fly A Kite!'
-Jason R.
FS-WWI Project Leader

FS-WWI Plane Pack Site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    OpenPlaneSim Forums Forum Index -> Add-On Developers All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
OpenPlaneSim Forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

GZIP: Disabled GZIP: Disabled  Queries: 15Queries: 15  Generation Time: 0.37358  Seconds Generation Time: 0.37358 Seconds